Pseudopod 346: Prisoner Of Peace

by David Tallerman

“Prisoner Of Peace” appears in the AFTER DEATH anthology from Dark Moon Books, which can be purchased here.

David Tallerman is the author of the novels GIANT THIEF and CROWN THIEF, to be followed by a second sequel, PRINCE THIEF, this September. The first collected edition of his comic book series ENDANGERED WEAPON B was released in July by UK publisher Markosia. David’s horror, fantasy and science fiction short stories have appeared in over fifty markets, including Lightspeed, Bull Spec, Redstone Science Fiction and Pseudopod itself. David can be found online at Writing On The Moon and his blog, also called Writing On The Moon.

Your reader this week – Caith Donovan – is a part-time voice actor and writer who can be heard in shows from BrokenSea Audio, Gypsy Audio, Dramapod, Sonic Society, and now Escape Pod. He currently appears as the companion Zacharias Cobb in the CP Studios’ production of Dr. Who, Las Pintas Negras, and his script, Closet Monster, is currently in production at Scattered Sounds Theatre.

Geek Cafe Indie-Go-Go link mentioned by Alasdair in the outro: Rule32Cafe – The Ultimate Geek Events Venue


“Today is a day of darkness.

For all that, I can see every brick in the wall, and every crack in every brick. I think somehow that if I only looked hard enough I could even see into those cracks, and scrutinize their furthest depths.

I know today what’s behind me, lying on my sleeping mat. I wish I didn’t, but I do.

I tried to scream at first, but no sound came out.

Now, I sit and wait. Forgetfulness will come.

It has to.”


About the Author

David Tallerman

David Tallerman is the author of the Digital Fiction Publishing fantasy adventure series The Black River Chronicles, so far comprised of Level One and The Ursvaal Exchange, as well as the novel Giant Thief (described by Fantasy Faction as “one of the finest débuts of 2012”) and its sequels Crown Thief and Prince Thief, all published through Angry Robot.  His crime debut The Bad Neighbour is forthcoming from Flame Tree Publishing in late 2018.

David has also written the Markosia graphic novel Endangered Weapon B: Mechanimal Science and the novella Patchwerk, as well as around a hundred short stories, which have appeared in markets such as Clarkesworld, Lightspeed, Beneath Ceaseless Skies and his debut collection The Sign in the Moonlight and Other Stories.  The first issue of comic book mini-series C21st Gods is out now from Rosarium.

In his spare time, David watches inordinate numbers of movies, plays board games and helps in the ethical submission, capture and resettlement of troveless dragons.

Find more by David Tallerman


About the Narrator

Caith Donovan

Caith Donovan is an aspiring science-fiction and horror author and a voice actor who has appeared in a number of audio projects in recent years. Caith is currently appearing as Zacharias Cobb in CP Studio’s production of Dr. Who, several episodes which can be found at HERE. Some of his (much) older work can be heard in Feedback: A Hero’s Calling.

Find more by Caith Donovan